Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

And then there was Best Buy...and Fry's...and...

2002-06-07 - 12:21 a.m.

Day two of the RAM quest started late. Shuffling off sleep I decided it was cold and shuffled back into sleep again for an hour. I remember my mom smiling down on me then...

"So, you wanna sleep another hour?"

"Ehhh, naw, I'm up."

"Cool! Wanna eat?"

We pull no bones when it comes to food. My Mom and I are severely hypoglycemic and get lost in space without the stuff. For me caffeine isn't just a good idea, it's a really good idea. So, we decided to fill the void over at Niko's, this Greek/Deli restaurant we go to often. The fanciful Greek gay waiter was there, which got us to wondering which ear a guy wears an earing in to indicate his sexual preference (or if we're behind the times). I naturally started to imitate him and talked about west hollywood and other stereotypical gay male things, which oddly didn't include fashion. Mom was vastly amused. She loves my accents.

The point of the day itself seemed simple: return this memory chip at Best Buy for the right kind and get to dissecting my CPU to install the thing. We get there. I chat with nice geeky sales rep. and talk shop. Get DDR RAM with a smile and a "hey, it's the last one." I then find out I can get this bastard installed for 30 bucks. Hey! CompUSA charges 120 just to open the case for your CPU. Mom and I decided right then just to get the thing, come back, get the RAM installed. Simple, like I said.

The 20 minutes of waiting for tech. support to make sure the machine worked right, understandable. The 25 minutes it took to get rid of Mr. Alfred J. Fuckwad and his claims of getting gyped 50 bucks on a 600 digital camera because he can't read service agreements, tiresome but amusing. Then Brandon, the tech guy, lays it on me: there isn't a chance in hell my motherboard will take DDR. A trip to the Return/Exchange line for my ass it is. Mom is looking spacy and annoyed at this point. I tell her it'll be over soon.

So another 10 minutes in line, another exchange receipt and I'm off to the computer section again. I ask for the RAM I need. After looking through some boxes the guy tells me they don't have that kind. I walk back to tech. support, explain. Brandon says they'll stow the thing until I get the RAM from the competition. But now it's back to the Exchange line to get my full refund. I shuffled around for five minutes in that "should I stand in line again or can I just talk to the person?" move, only to wait 20 minutes as John Q. Asshole III bitched out my rep., the manager, and several other employees about a 50 dollar rebate he was supposed to get from a non-original, return receipt. What in the hell is it with middle aged white businessmen and arguing over stupid shit like that? So I got refund, left computer there, promised to buy RAM from competition as soon as possible to get them to install it. Brandon smiled.

Mom was burnt at this point and couldn't handle it anymore. I was slightly disgusted, since all she needed to do was sit the whole time, but then I thought alot of people get tired for weird reasons. After a lovely dinner it was round 2, with Gram taking me to Fry's. Ah Fry's, stockhouse of accented 'English-speaking' computer expert engineers. This was a little more straightforward: they had the part. We went back to Best Buy, dropped it off and now my electronic child sits around while it is cleaned and upgraded. If only I could do this with other people's machines...or other people's children...

All in all it wasn't that bad. Apparently Frodo has just found out that a Ringwraith is rather unsavory. I think I'll go investigate this further.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.