Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

4th of July uber dinner and Topanga Canyon

2002-07-06 - 8:06 p.m.

Ha, I can code!...ok, so it's very basic stuff, but still! I've been playing with this stimulus presentation programme all day, doing something productive before I go eat and read Lord of the Rings. I figure it'll impress the guy who casually suggested I "check it out" and give him feedback on it. Still nothing in the job department, but things are looking up.

The 4th of July was magnificent. Mom, Scott and I drove all the way out to Marina del Ray, known for its exclusive yacht club and terribly overpriced restaurants, hoping to get a good patio seat at Wakiki Willy's...only to find out the bastard had been closed for nearly a year. Ah Willy, so many good memories of coconut shrimp and new england clam chowder...even the first dessert that thoroughly disgusted me.

I suggested we drive out to Gladstone's, an excellent fish place located over past Venice and into the Santa Monica area along the Pacific Coast Highway. We rolled along admiring barely clothed people, moving past this place called the Warehouse. It looked just liked as it sounded: facsimile crates, kegs, cleverly containing an elegant, almost fancifully tasteful decor that was ribboned by the warehouse motif in the background. This was a pricey place...we're talking a dozen some odd dessert wines and 30 dollar entrees.

Sitting out on the balcony patio, we had a great view of the harbor and all its floating yuppie fiberglass. At first I felt uncomfortable with the people around me and the prices... but I loosened up after a few hours and a good drink. You should have seen the size of these Malaysian shrimp, gods. Snacking on those and seeing the elders down their 3rd 12oz. glass of Jack Daniel's and vermouth, we began getting incredibly silly. Other people around us also seemed to be having a good time. A young couple on the balcony below us seemed a little off. Rocky first date, I guess.

The fireworks were great, like every year we've been by the marina, but one of the launchers seemed to be off. It kept firing the rockets too low, right at the edge of this palm tree line off in the distance. There was an adorable 2 year old in back of us on his father's shoulders that didn't seem to notice that flaw. He was adorable. Must have been his first time.

Rounding out our 7 hour dinner, we drove along the coast from Venice out to Santa Monica, all the way back to Topanga Canyon and through to home. I love that place at night. It perpetually puts out an open, 60's vibe, I guess since that's where alot of people holding on to that era ended up. There's this restaurant with tables amidst a grotto of oak trees half way through, right where paths divide off to the beach and Old Topanga Canyon. I need to drag Mom there.

When I do go, I'll miss the ocean and the canyon most. They've always been special to me.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.