Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Writing; A new writing contact; going back to Pacos Viernes

2003-01-21 - 7:42 p.m.

Now that that's out of my system, onto more important matters. I've sometimes mentioned trying to be a writer. Like most things, though, I haven't been very clear. Over the last six months I've taken up volunteer jobs to help me focus on developing my talent. There's the non-profit computer game I do dialogue and book work for, as well as the infamous diary review site turned online magazine Marked Accordingly. My boss for either "job" is lax about what I turn in. I haven't heard a complaint yet-- from them or other people who read my stuff--which frankly bothers me. The right insults can be good compliments, while a nice compliment is just that. Nice.

Mostly, though, I've been trying to write short stories in fantasy and sci-fi. My first real short story, The Convenience of Sir Wilfred, was well-received when I sent it in to be reviewed a few weeks ago. I was really nervous about that. For the first few days I couldn't even read the reviews that came in. From the 15 reviews that I got, though, everyone genuinely liked my story and dialogue. Even so, some people had problems with how complex my sentences were or that I used adverbs (madly, badly, sadly, other -ly words). I'm still learning the basics, I figure.

One guy in particular was amply impressed. He calls himself Cornelius. From our emails I've learned that he's been publishing in the Fantasy genre for nearly four years; he even mentored under an author I'm familiar with. Aside from the compliments, he wanted to keep up a correspondence and help me out with some practical advice. I don't know if he has any good connections, but I figure asking him is worth a shot.

For the next few days I'm going back to my mom's boyfriend's place again in Pacos Viernes. Mt. University is closer to there and mom is willing to drive me to my interview on Thursday. My car still isn't working and I don't have a license yet, so she's doing me a nice favor.

I genuinely feel good about things in life right now. I'm 2,000+ words into my newest short story, I might get a job at the end of this week and I'm not being swamped by cyber-social obligations anymore. It was getting to be that I'd have 6-7 IM windows open at one time. Now things are finally back to normal and I don't have to hide from (most) people.

I should also have some more photographs available soon. In the meantime, on my 'older' page on the right, there's a link to all the photography I've done so far. And soon, hopefully, the beatifically rancorous Autmunal might have a new layout for my journal.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.