Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Making sense of this write-up; doing more writing

2003-04-14 - 5:09 p.m.

A nefarious few days been it has at the institution on a mountain in a grotto along sloping alpine whatnot, decorated, sharp and piled with tree stumps white symmetrical and lint and chinese food. We are drunks without a bar, pawing in the dark for purpose with feets and noselings. How did it happen, the ratsies white not responding like before? Try as we did to activate their immune system and introduce some sad syrum, the two don't mix a damn. Thusly, as I write it, we continue looking for articles and papers to give us a better method, to gain back the effect we hunger for (and which I talks by sometimes later when my nog isn't fuzz-stuffed).

For the myself I, I am captivated by jello in the metaphoric. The write-up I have mentioned on the experiments--that eldritch pizza baked in 1987 to be nuked and chowed by Doctors Anonymous--is a bastard of reknown. The graphs I have done, the methods by which these experiments were slapped together done likewise. Now falls an impasse. What to do next? Am I doing it right? How to pass the time, how to pass the time...

I decided instead of writing the results of the experiments that the beginning should be done: a good, stable, medicated introduction to shape this wobbling mass into perspectives sensible. Dr. Zivago did not like that rationale, no. The methods and results come first, always, he said. He wants a sandwich, lovelies, meatsies and sundry plants between the buns at the beginning and end. He has a point, a good point. I can't deny that I worry about exactly HOW to write this results section: frills, boredom, thorough, short? How do you tailor the pants for your animal? That is the impasse before me.

Truth be told, friends, I mostly wanted to know if my assignment had any reason to it! Surely in 16 years someone had done something similar, if not exactly the same? No, not enough to pass the time, not this time. This revelation doesn't make the assignment any more easy. The aggravating thing is that that there are no articles, no reviews, nothing to explain why these experiments were done.

That write-up aside, the monday meeting itself passed quickly enough. I collected all of the science niblets that the undergrads, L and I searched for so we could get back on track (or stumble back into a bar, to reference the drunk metaphor). L continues with her her metal shop fun time in getting free-standing water bottle chasses for her cages. The undergrads continue to be there when I don't need them and disappear into the mist when I do.

Today, though, Dr. Ziv's said things that made me feel terrible. I'm sensitive when it comes to authority figures.

Besides telling me that my approach to the write-up was all wrong, the manner in which he treated me seemed more gruff than usual, even angry at times. I was sitting and reading some articles for the write-up, with one of the undergrads on the computer and Dr. Zivago sitting there and just about leaving every few minutes. I would mention something or he would ask a question and he seemed angry. Yet, he seemed curious and kind to the undergrad while she was pondering about what to do after college.

I just keep getting this impression that he has something against me or that I rub him the wrong way. I try to be clear about everything but we seem to misunderstand one another; I've had a problem like this before and I'm trying hard not to make the same mistake. I'll ask Gretle about Dr. Zivago's opinion of me sometime tomorrow. Just guessing with my paranoia doesn't make it go away.

I usually go in on Mon, Wed and Fri, but tomorrow is another helping of horseshit government certification. Yes, lords and ladies, tomorrow I will learn how to pick a rat up and inject it. No matter that I learned this 3 years ago; it wasn't from a certification board.

Oh, last thing. I doubt any of you remember me mentioning that I volunteer for this computer game team. I joined it back in October, I think. Anyway, I haven't bothered working on it until now (coincidentally when the team got its shit together). I really like trying to get into my own head to create different personalities. Computer gaming is an off and on hobby of mine, so it's fascinating to actually try and write dialogue or books for a game. Right now I work on that, my MA writing and a few other short stories.

I'm surprised you're still reading. Hi!

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.