Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

[deleted], new camera, same old paranoia

2003-05-04 - 12:32 p.m.

Greenspan recently said that the American economy is showing some "moderate" regrowth after the war. **[section deleted for personal and ethical reasons]**. The work in Dr. Zivago's lab is still going steady. Rats are fucking, papers are being written, procedures sent off to committees for approval.

However, since I forgot my valise in Mom's truck when she went out to jury duty, I didn't have jack coming in on friday. I was nervous about it, if he'd say anything and what sort of excuse I'd come up with.

As usual, though, my paranoia didn't amount to much. He and I spent most of friday kibitzing about how to turn my Resume/Curriculum Vitae (CV) hybrid into a full CV. Mine barely spans 3 pages. Then again, I'm just now writing my first two papers which'll hopefully get published.

When I mentioned references and letters of recommendation, Dr. Ziv said he'd write one. I was not expecting this from him. I'll explain. A few months ago I had a vision/delusion about me walking into his office, asking for one and being given the smack down. I also have this annoying tendency of not remembering important changes the first time I've heard them. It's not that I don't understand, I just don't recall some things until someone mentions the first four words of it. Then of course I feel like an idiot for not remembering. I hate to do it, but I should ask Dr. Ziv on monday just how strong that recommendation is. In general, I think I just need to think things through without talking first.

---

On a different note, if any of you have been wondering what ever happened to my photography, I'm upgrading right now. Aside from getting a copy of Photoshop Pro 7, I bought a Canon Supershot S40 (4 megapixels) for about 400 USD on Ebay last week.

I know it goes against common sense, me being unemployed, but I'd stopped photographing because of the disappointing results. That is, working with a 1.3 megapixel camera isn't easy, since all of your shots come out grainy and distorted. I know it's a luxury item, but I adore photography.

I was hoping to have it figured out by today and show all of you what the new toy can do, but I have some papers to read and summarize for next week and I need to go to bed early and wake up at 5am tomorrow.

---

Why in the name of God do I need to get up before dawn tomorrow? Apparently some scientist is going to show us how to perform a specific kind of brain surgery at 7am. I guess it's a freebie/pro-bonno thing before work starts. Granted, I get up at 6am every monday to avoid traffic and get to Mt. University for the lab meeting at 8:45, but still...5am. I'd skip it, but it's one of those "it's not required, but we expect you to show up" kinds of events.

This loyalty'll pay off someday, I think.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.