Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Minutes; The Gonzo guide to roadtrips

2003-10-14 - 2:16 a.m.

Every minute is precious, in the perfectionist and buddhist sense. I used to spend my minutes like paychecks on a friday. I feel niggardly about them now, hording 10 minutes of listening to music, or 30 to take a hike. They are my precious children, no longer random baubles to chuk at passing pagan gods who go for the sacrifice thing.

----

As some of you know I'd planned on travelling to Wisconsin and then Detroit this fall. I've decided to postpone that bitch until after all my grad school applications are in. I figure I could then take off a large chunk of time and visit all the sites: Michigan, Ohio, yet more of Michigan, Ottawa, Illinois, more of Michigan still. Michigan, it's a handy place--and only Michiganers can appreciate that pun.

I digress as usual. I think between all the people I know out there I could easily bum around for several months. It's half-tempting. I'm not sure what I'd tell Dr. Zivago. Maybe I'd mention some interesting field research I could do with Dr. Gonzo--that'd work. Anyway, I could eek out 3 weeks from him as an excuse to go look at grad schools. Hell, if I got a month, I could just drive back east, visit all the places I'm planning on going to and meet/re-acquaint myself/hang with people.

It'd be glorious: invading city after city, stopping in whack-job areas and outlandish locales for photo-ops, installing software on the hard-drives of countless friends to process and edit photos.

It'd be like a pilgrimage across the States, boundless in its opportunities for shit to go wrong and write about at length. The sheer variety of human compels me. I could get free food, lots of attention, spread the seed of my creative impulses. And in those moments I would be chasing the American Dream of Generation X, that giant opalescent testicle peeking out, winking from the undiscovered hinterlands, like the harvest moon--untouched by cafe intellectuals, cynics and republicans. The last frontier isn't in the vacuum of space but some fucker more ominous yet: shit we've already seen but failed to experience.

So maybe sometime in spring I can begin the epic, and in the end I will blaze a trail--a trail of installed software.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.