Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Yup, GRE stuff

2003-10-17 - 9:14 p.m.

Part of me just wants it all to be over. Part of me tells the other part "No dude, come on! The test ain't bad or anything!" They're both right.

I took a 2002 GRE practice exam this morning. Same relative scores as usual. Several questions were similar to the 2003 practice exams I've taken, but I think this latest one is representative. I got nervous when I switched to work on an analytical essay, though. I eventually got so frustrated trying to find a good opening that I quit it. That bothered me for the early afternoon but, finally, I tried my hand at another one. It came out pretty good in my opinion. I'm probably going to do another one after this entry, review the test I took this morning and go to bed.

----

For the fuck of it and because I'm tired, I'm going to post my essay. This is 1st draft material with no time for proof-reading (since for some reason the practice box swallows the whole screen and I have to guess what time it is).

Anyway, I had 45 minutes to read a quote and make an argument for/against/qualifying it. The topic was:

"The best idea come from those who have a passionate interest in commonplace things"

And here it is:

"The commonplace is an undiscovered treasure trove, a seemingly benign creature that has the serendipidous tendency of latching onto those who are keenly focused on an otherwise mundane task.

Back in the late 1900's a woman was throwing a dinner party for several close friends. She worked in the kitchen, calm and collected, when suddenly her hands slipped. The chocolate fudge she had been mixing had fallen into the unbaked bread pudding! She felt overcome by her mistake, but quickly received a shock at the dinner table: the chocolate-like bread was a sensation. Quickly after her "Tollhouse morsels" swept America into a dessert passion.

The seredipidous bite of the ordinary also has far more practical, if less appetizing, applications for industry. Dock workers daily sacrifice their well-being in climbing long riggings and perilous scaffoldings to maintain and board/unboard a ship. One day, an engineer who regularly visited the docks gave himself a curious problem to solve: could those workers actually climb up the side of the ship without rigging? If so, how? An observation of the plight of these workers was translated, months later, into foot and hand actuators that could stick and unstick from sheer and bumpy metal surfaces.

The real world aside, we cannot forget the contributions of normal, even rather boring, events and actions that have contributed to the progress of science itself. One of the more famous examples in Psychology concerns Pavlov and his discovery of conditioned behavior response. The medical doctor had decided he wanted nothing more than to study gastrointestinology. Specifically, he wished to focus on how food was appetizing in dogs by studying their salivating response. According to legend, one of Pavlov's students--a particularly clumsy one--accidentally knocked over a bell while the dog was being given meat powder. Pavlov later noticed that when the bell rung the dog began to salivate. He suddenly developed a keen interest in why this behavior had occured, leading him down a concourse of discovery he otherwise wouldn't have seen if not for simple procedures and simple mistakes.

But then you might ask: weren't these people already engaged in whatever pursuit they were interested in? They were just tipped off by normal occurences, stuff that wouldn't ever just impact something by itself. For such an argument, one need look no further than Andy Warhol. Arguably one of the fathers of post-modernism, Warhol enjoyed soup. These two seemingly unconnected passions met and fell in love when the man struck cerebrum dynamite. He painted a picture of a Campbell's soup can. This one rather bizarre act turned the art world on its head forever after. It was Warhol that sparked the debate of 'what IS art, anyway?', inspiring artists thereafter to showcase toilets, carrion and other works in museums. It was the ultimate triumph of the ordinary over the abstruse.

The commonplace is considered such because it is plain, normal, relatively unchanging. In these and many other examples, however, we see a strange glimmer of genius shine, its fangs barred and waiting for another person to take an interest in the mundane and give a second look."

I figure this approach is alot better than being stuffy or going for perfect wording. I also didn't repeat "itself" 10 or so times which is always a good sign.

----

On a final note I went out tonight to get gas for my car and buy some mexican food. It's friday, I've been working all week, I deserve at least that. So I was standing by, casually wondering why the fuck my gas wasn't pumping after I'd pressed 'start', looking out over the sea of halting cars. It was hard to believe they had entirely separate lives--or more specifically ones that didn't revolve around study. My mind cleared for a little while. Driving back I wondered to myself if I should cruise to blow off steam. Might not be a bad idea: it's only an hour of my time; I can kinda afford that.

----

One more essay 'till bed..or two..or something along those lines..

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.