Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

New Annoyances; Photographs

2004-05-06 - 3:48 p.m.

For some inexplicable reason, I feel terrible today--with the kind of body ache and lack of energy muddling around family gatherings. I did end up going to sleep at around 5am and waking up at 11:30, but I've done that several nights before...but I didn't develop this same overwhelming BLAH feeling.

However, there are several things at home and elsewhere that've been bothering me.

About a week ago, for instance, Scott's son, Michael, decided to move into the guest bedroom. To put it mildly, he and I have never gotten along well. We first got to know each other when we lived on Cezanne St. near the mouth of Topanga Canyon. My mother recently told me that after three days under the same roof, Mike had stood at the top of the stairs, looking down to my mom with folded arms, and proclaimed that he and I were "mortal enemies". On my end, I mostly ignored him because he was unpleasant, brusque, and leaning on the pampered white boy side. I mostly enjoyed hanging out with our other mutual friend/roommate, Brian, who kept everything cool with his laid back, pot-smoking Buddha ways.

Fast forward from my Junior year of high school to now. Mike and I so far have an 'unconditional ignore' rule going on. We haven't said a word to one another since he came--and excepting a natural disaster or invasion, I doubt we will. Since he works days and goes to bed at 10pm, however, I mostly just think of him as an extended stay house guest.

----

Another thing that is greatly bothering me is that I need to come up with about 1000 bucks in 4 months.

Here's how that situation breaks down:

Originally, I thought I was going to get my first check from Madison on July 1st, BEFORE I move out there. I learn now, however, that my first check comes in October 1st. This is a big fucking problem. This means that, at the least, I need to come up with rent money and travel expenses for my first two months of living over there.

I currently have the cost of two restaurant dinners in my bank account.

Thankfully, I have a two-pronged solution to this situation:

*First, when the general contractors come to work on the house, I can hire myself on as an assistant for 10 bucks an hour--hopefully under the table. I could take a job as a librarian (which I've done before), or the types of jobs high school students take, but I don't think I could do better than 10 untaxed bucks an hour in those realms.

*Second, I need your help. I'll explain.

For awhile now, I've asked people to make donations to my photography if they're so inclined. I think, though, that you should receive a gift--an investment, in return. Specifically, I'm offering signed prints to people who contribute. You can scope out the details by clicking the olive Amazon donation tab on the left.

Bottom line: think of me as a long-term stock option as much as a needy artist.

----

There are other things worrying me, but I can't get into them here at the moment.

----

Photography

Rouge Plant

Comment: Ah the Ford Rouge Plant, where Dork and I crossed swords with security. I took this shot from a stone bridge, my tripod brushing against the railing. It was about 5 degrees F at that point, a fact which my completely numb hands kept reminding me. Even so, I got this shot of a factory section near the freeway. Someone commented to me that including more sky would be good, but I think there's enough.

Many more to come!

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.