Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Movie and Dinner with GE; Madison apartments

2004-05-17 - 2:00 a.m.

Yesterday I finally got my social on by meeting with GE to see Troy.

We whittled the 'pre-show entertainment' in short order, with me asking after GE, what with the usual stuff and some questions about his job. He's an engineer, y'see, and I've always been fascinated by how machines work. Just take my Ford Rouge plant trip. In GE's case, he'd explain a particular process or how a situation went down at his work--and I ate it all up.

The movie itself was decent overall. Having a half dozen funerals and other bits did make things drag on for awhile, but Brad Pitt did make an interesting Achilles. Classics people will likely have an anheurism with the 'inspired' adaptation of The Iliad, but the battles are pretty kick-ass.

Afterwards, GE and I did that standing-around-a-parking-lot-talking deal for awhile. I'd been talking with him about my upcoming Santa Cruz trip, how it'd help me clear my head in general and work through some stuff. Then, kinda despite myself, I started explaining how I was worried about T, and then how she and I met.

Part of me thought it was cool that GE was receptive to listening, but I also didn't want to seem like I was complaining or bitching. He hadn't asked, after all--but his body language suggested he didn't mind, so I was just slightly worried/nervous offloading my issues.

He offered some genuinely insightful advice, even going so far as to play Devil's Advocate about a situation I'd mentioned. He also told me something I'd often heard before, but not for a long time: that I was thinking too much about a decision. He was right. While I don't feel comfortable mentioning the hypothetical decision, let's just say: in an ideal world, choosing between two things would not be necessary. That likely won't mean anything relevant to you unless you knew (or read me) during my college days.

In any case, he mentioned that we could head out to some place for coffee instead of yaking in the parking lot. This struck me as a damn good idea, and I suggested Norm's--mostly since (I could swear) the Starbuck's just a 3 minute walk away was closing. That was probably a good call, since my mouth and stomach didn't have any objections when I fed them.

Brian and I talked for several hours at Norm's, with a waitress and gay trainee waiter diligently making sure if we needed refills and the like--which was damned unusual for any Norm's restaurant I've ever been to.

During the time we were talking, I felt incredibly nervous...or was it excited...it was some sort of high energy thing that could have gone either way. And I seemed off somehow, or at least I was bumbling over words and sentences more than usual. I was being tactful or round-about when I clearly didn't need to be. I mean, had it really been that long since I'd talked to someone other than family in person? Can you get rusty at that sorta thing?

All in all, despite being anxious for some bizarre reason, I had a kick-ass time. I really appreciated GE's listening and the sense of camraderie we had in the conversation. J is coming down for Memorial Day weekend, so at the least the three of us will do something a couple weeks from now. They've both been exceedingly kick-ass people and I appreciate their friendship.

* * *

In Madison news, I just started my apartment search 15 minutes ago. The Madison page suggests that finding ideal 'near campus' apartments usually happens between January and April. They may be right, but I have a knack for finding decent apartments. Hell, I had one week notice to find one in Boston when I went to work for Harvard, and I only got slightly shafted on paying a grand a month. Getting a whole floor of a house ain't none too shabby at that price, though.

I'm hoping the monthly rent in Madison is a hell of a lot less.

Thankfully they've got listings here, and regular university-sanctioned apartments that probably have LAN capability. The LAN line is essential. Period. It's the only other criterion I have besides finding a place kinda sorta close to my lab.

* * *

Lastly, I learned a good bit of news re: T. I got in contact with a friend of hers, Orwell, who (I think) knew T back in her home state. Orwell hasn't heard from T ever since she moved to her new state.

So it seems that T hasn't returned my calls (or Orwell's) because she really is that busy, or some big situation happened. I just feel much better knowing that she (probably) isn't ignoring me; it just seemed too uncharacteristic and sudden for it to be that.

Now while I feel less worried on my end, that note also makes me wonder if T is ok. I hope something bad hasn't happened to her or a loved one...and eventually I'm sure I'll hear from her.

* * *

And as a parting note, it seems that Mike (Scott's son) is getting surgery tomorrow. Apparently he's still having major health problems because of his diet, plumbing, etc. I'd wish the guy luck tomorrow, but we haven't spoken a word to each other for months (and certainly not since he came here). So really: why spoil a good thing?

I feel unusually tired for some reason. I should sleep.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.