Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Solid gold to make you feel old!

2001-08-23 - 4:09 p.m.

I just signed up for gold membership today. The fund for Europe is nicked a bit by this random decision, but I think it's necessary for a few reasons:

1) I will be creating some new diaryrings: esotericism, mysticism, and hellappreciation. Some others will follow, but those are the ones I see as having a need that has not been taken care of by anyone so far.

If you're a regular (yes, all 6 of you), you know about my bent toward mysticism in general. If not, well, it's a major part of my life. The first two diaryrings are exclusively for me to upload various diagrams into, opinion pieces, and just to find out how many others share my passion.

The third one may strike you as odd. Let me explain verbosely:

Hell fascinates me as a scholar.

To my mind it doesn't exist, but what it embodies is...amazing. Where else in the world of literature or thought can you find one place that embodies what western culture perceives as not only negative, but inherently wrong and subjectable to condemnation and obfuscation (hiding) from the world of light, righteousness, etc.?

Especially intriguing is how it is represented in art. Artwork depicting Hell is exquisite not for its grotesque images, but what symbols are used at what times and why. It's a convenient scapegoat, has instant recognition over a variety of symbols, and is just plain interesting.

Oh, and let me re-iterate: I am a non-denominational monotheist. If you believe in Hell and think my interest wrong or my comments are indicative of Satanism, I apologize. My interest, again, is purely scholarly.

2) It'll give me a chance to write a few treatises on mysticism, eventually post my course of the HISTORY of Tarocchi (tarot) cards and their evolution, and again indulge my mental itch.

3) What the hell.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.