Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Mental wards piss me off

2002-01-23 - 4:59 a.m.

I'm incredibly angry. Not about my life, but the choices some parent made for her kid. I won't mention who, since she deserves some solace. We'll call her A. Apparently her mom found out she was a cutter. Against my friend's will, she's being thrown into a clinical detention ward for 3 weeks for some incredibly expensive, God awfully ineffective attempt to find a decent course of therapy and the right drugs.

My rant begins now.

For fuck's sake, woman! Clinicians aren't magicians! You can't adequately prescribe treatment for major depression that's possibly comorbid with borderline personality disorder in three WEEKS! Hell it takes two weeks for most anti-depressants JUST to kick in! What's the point? Is this some grand symbol of motherly affection that everyone can be aware of? Is a ward the right place for someone who feels as unstable and alone as she does? Just the cost alone for her or the state...3 weeks, one-on-one care, nursing, medication, HOUSING...it's a financial nightmare! What were you thinking?!

What the hell is wrong with parents today? Your typical American suburban trip to the psychiatrist was such a lovely pasttime, almost cathartic. Medication bottles used to jingle like sleigh bells all year around. Now, pff.

The girl could benefit just as much, if not more, by going to see a local psychiatrist, getting some pills, and waiting awhile to see what works best. But no, it has to be this dramatic sack of fireworks-laden bullshit fired around for the sake of pride, some well placed but misguided idea that the more dramatic the solution, the more dramatic the results. It's the mentality that a sledgehammer can squash a fly flatter than a fly-swatter.

A is a strong person, but in alot ways she's fragile. Yes I'm a little overprotective. She reminds me of me when I was younger (minus the cutting part) and I love the girl like a younger sister (minus the rivalry).

Rant aside, think a nice thought about A for a few seconds for me. She really needs it.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.