Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Shot in the dark and titles

2002-02-05 - 1:45 p.m.

A friend once told me that people with Ph.D's were the ones who were the experts. It never seemed right, somehow...and I think it's the case that they just have more experience. Titles have a way of blurring what the person represents and what the person actually is. Manager, professor, clerk, it simplifies life but makes us assume too much.

All of this comes to mind after speaking with my advising prof. today. We tried figuring out what we should study this semester and I was left puzzled. We're waiting on the results from the maze study we were doing over winter. It's a toss-up, really: we need to see the analysis before saying anything.

Since we can't study anything related to that, we have one other semi-related study lined up...but then it's anyone's guess what we're doing. I suggested doing tissue staining, to see how widespread an effect the drug has on the area where its supposed to inhibit stuff. He thinks it's a good idea but doesn't know how to go about doing it.

I'll tell you right now: I don't know anything about drug effects or pharmacology. I've had some basic experience, but this is hardcore graduate student type stuff. I don't know anyone who can help, even the prof. So it's a stab in the dark, hoping I catch something on the end and tackle it. Research is like gutting a giant smelly fish that way.

Everything seems to be fine so far as my social life is concerned. Matt and I studied last night and decided to make a habit of it. Sometimes I think he looks up to me. Hell if I know why, though.

I saw Colleen online last night and talked with her for awhile as well. She has this wonderful gift for making me feel happy. I'm still debating how I feel about her. She ended up leaving abruptly, but she does that. I'll write more about her later.

Oh, I should mention something before I forget. A few weeks ago an old friend of mine, Della, began to act strangely. She'd leave anonymous messages in my guestbook saying I was distant. She didn't email me, though, as if she were scared. Eventually she said she had found a 'new me' and didn't care anymore.

It vaguely hurt that someone I once considered a sister had thought of me only as an object. I don't know what being a woman is like, but I think I can better identify with that 'used' feeling some of them have described to me. It's like I wasn't even a person, just a symbol, like a title. I didn't think about it, but maybe my being a 'brother' was just a convenient way to categorize what she expected.

Introspective stuff aside, I feel really good today. I think I'll study outside under a big tree where there isn't snow. Take care, everyone.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.