Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Life, don't talk to me about life

2002-04-12 - 12:39 a.m.

Met with interviewer guy from MIT today. If I qualify, MIT wants my ass for year program...which leads to them highly suggesting that I apply to grad school only with them...which leads them to grabbing me up after funding two years of post-doc work to make me a tenure track professor. In other words I become their property and their bitch for life. Being quasi American Indian is apparently a big PR boost. I'd get to give talks about my "disadvantaged" and "under-represented" life story periodically.

Problems: they'd want me to take calculus and physics...at MIT. Let me clarify: MIT is where people on the order of genius go to get enginnering and math degrees. I'm about as far from feeling natural in science as humans are related to rock formations. I'd get by somehow...but God...

The whole not having biochemistry part also annoyed the interviewer a bit, but I'd "definetely" need to have the calc and physics to rank at least as an "MIT undergrad." MIT is reminding me of my 4th ex. (or was it my 3rd?) at this point: great body, interesting personality, but we come from two different worlds. Unfortunately you can't just have sex with someone for 10+ years.

So that whole thing depressed the hell out of me. Still no word from U Chicago, which is starting to ring death tolls in my ears. Right now I'm worried about m'boys, who are starving because today was busy and I forgot to feed them. I tried getting access to the building just now, but I'm apparently not on a list that doesn't actually exist. Of course, "you could just get authorization and call us right back." Right, lady, I'm going to call and wake up the fucking chair right now so I can sheepishly hand my nuts to him for verbal tenderizing, you just hold on a sec ok?

Sorry, but there isn't a single thing I like about where my life is or where it's going. Need to read a lab, should have studied more for test, getting six hours of sleep again, hands red and cracked from ringing them. The list goes on.

But at least noone has been an ass to me lately, which is good, because I would hand theirs back to them so they could wear it as a hat.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.