Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

That was a day just now, right?

2002-04-27 - 10:15 p.m.

The institutionalized fiends who design the SAT and GRE are wonky SOB's. The practice tests just give you a hint about how desperate/twisted these people are in wanting to confuse you for kicks.

I'm tempted to go over to Matt's place or back to the CS lab to chew the cud with the boys...but I need to study. Didn't get to do that all through today.

So, you might ask if you were at all interested, why did that happen? Well it's an amusing/sad story. At 4:50 I was lazily clicking through practice questions and decided to check my email. The instant I saw something my assistant had sent me, I froze. I was supposed to meet her at 3:00 to do this month delayed research crap!! I thought about all the shit I hadn't gotten for the experiment: the froot loops to lure the rats around the maze, the actual sheets to record data on, even the pens.

I did what anyone in fear of pissing off their boss would do: I lied. You see, all this time my grandmother has been dying of cancer and she keeps moving back and forth...so my mother is wreck and randomly needs moral support. She bought the whole thing, which was good. I called security and tried getting them to understand that I needed the outer door to the animal quarters opened, not the whole damn building.

Hanging up I ran to the grocery on-campus, since Dr. Yomtoth said they had fruit loops. Dr. Yom is misinformed. I ran back to where I was going to meet security. The beefy, no shit taking woman opened up the door and then it hit me: gee, what IS the code to turn off the alarm? I tried a few guesses...nothing. She had one of those "damn idiot kid" kinds of expressions. I started fast-talking, saying my partner had it and she'd be here soon...and not even 20 seconds after, guess who shows up. So more lies, blah blah blah and I get the officer to leave and report in that she's still dealing with our monkey asses. This gives me enough time to run back home, get the number, then get in. In the meantime, she had let my partner in. I was dripping sweat around this time and a bit miffed. Then there was running to the 'general store' in town, finding froot loops but absolutely no pens in their "school supplies" section. I bought a 3 pack of those colored lead pencils. 6 bucks. 3 mechanical pencils.

My assistant Val could only stay around for an hour until she "had to get prepared for dinner." The way she said it struck me as very 50's. Dinner is more of a passing 10 minute impulse buy to me than an event. We got through running our rats once, she left and I decided I needed to run 'em again to make sure they knew the routine.

It's very film noire, sitting in a dimly lit room with no features as a small animal scratches back and forth across an overworn maze. The ventilation blows in the distance. Reality is suspended like wax. I hadn't eaten yet so my "you haven't eaten in a long time, eat you stupid bastard!" vertebra went out of place. Sitting really sucked after that.

Today hasn't felt like a day, as much sense as that makes. I wonder what it's like to have a life sometimes.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.