Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Update on job prospects

2002-06-10 - 9:19 p.m.

I spoke with Dr. Nystal of the Cobort lab at Printstown today. 50 straight minutes. As far as post-docs go, he's a really nice guy, thinks like a graduate student still with the compunction and wording of a long-term lab member. I'd count myself lucky to be working under him. We like joking around with one another and he's not a tight ass. It's also one of those "multiple projects at once" type of labs...which is good opportunity to get more experience and maybe publish.

Here's the rundown. The current research assistant is packing up her bags for grad school in mid July. Nystrom has literally gotten more applications for this one position than anything that's ever come up in the lab. New applications come in every day even though the ad went down nearly a month ago. I get the feeling there are about 50-100 applicants, which is pretty nasty and rare for a position like this.

He said, however, there are 7-8 strong applicants up for serious consideration. I'm one of them. Considering 2-3 people want to go for the job in August...and I'm willing to come in early July to pick up the ropes from the leaving researcher...it may just be me and 4-5 other people.

Getting this job would solve any forseeable problems for the future. Money to buy shovels to scale down my mountain of debt, make it more of a leveled gardening terrace of debt, maybe a nice farm plot of debt. That and I'd be on familiar ground: Phillie, NJ and New York. There's enough rare book stores and underground culture to glut any cityscape intellectual.

Only other problems are the GRE and doing grad school applications...both of those are matters I do not have to attend to for at least another month. Yes, getting this job would be perfect...and I am qualified. It's plausible, it could work. I hope it works. No word back from the last batch of emails I sent out. I'll start again tomorrow.

For now, time for reality to blur around the edges.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.