Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

The evolution of the modern white-collar

2002-06-23 - 5:38 p.m.

I woke up at 2:30 this afternoon. This has gotta be a first for me, especially since I don't feel in the least bit guilty. Maybe I'll make it past dawn this time, eh?

Things in the job market are slightly looking up. Still nothing from Princeton, although all the other applicant's stuff should be in by now. I was scanning over Monster.Com and lo and behold, they have (some) job listings for my field. I don't know why they don't have a "research" option and just "science," but it's close enough.

There are a few jobs I'm more than qualified for, but I'm hesistant to do anything in the private or federal sector. Alot of private companies are offering outrageously good salary ranges (25-45k!) for kids with about as much skill and training as I have. Some of them even include medical benefits, which considering my ideal medication use wouldn't be too shabby. There were even a few University listings. I've been on the horn with this guy from UC Davis who needs a cognitive neuropsych. person with programming skills. I'm not a coder, unfortunately. After some back-and-forth, though, he agreed to look at my resume anyway. Maybe I can pick up C++ or Pearl or whatever the hell he wants in the meantime.

Then there's the National Institute of Health (NIH) and National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). The government is actually my best bet for finding a...semi-respectably paying job with dental benefits that has positons available. If you've ever read anything produced by the government, though, you can imagine what job descriptions must be like. 10 pages of small print on average. I don't know Civil Service codes or the first thing about the bureaucracy involved either.

Anyone out there versed in this bullshit that can help me?

So at least there's room to still be picky, but the routes ain't none too pleasant. Then again it's probably worse for the poor bastards that don't have any job experience, so I'm in a decent position.

In other news, I started writing another two pieces on top of the two I haven't finished. I figure I write the same way I eat food, wearing away at things like a persistent slime mold. Well if anything I'll finish one of them these days...but then I'm not sure what to do with it. Guess that's a bridge I'll cross later.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.