Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

New job prospects and conversation

2002-06-28 - 4:54 p.m.

Overall I feel better about not getting the Princeton job. I found out the person who did get fits it hand-in-glove. I'm surprised and delighted I almost made it with people like that running around.

In the wide world of job hunting a few new things have come up. There's an acoustics cognition project down over at UC Davis which has open slots. It all depends on whether or not the prof's grants go through...but if they do, I stand a good chance of getting in. There's also some open positions at this national senses institute...first non-profit research institute of its kind...with things from genetic re-engineering and viral therapy to smelling/tasting preferences with slugs and mussels. Apparently the guy is designing AI for taste and smell, wants to define 'bitter' and 'sweet' and program them in. What the hell, it pays and I could say I work with slugs with a sweet tooth.

I've been remarkably lazy, otherwise. I got to finally hold an extended conversation with Fadedlight, which was very pleasant and interesting. I've been reading her diary for half a year now. Her writing is very touching, brings you in yet keeps you at enough of a distance to speculate the same way she does. She reminds me of Janis, a dear friend I knew long ago: type of kindness that gets carved in with experience, genuine, thoughtful and questioning. It's a good read, I recommend it. In any case, we spoke about many things including my last entry.

::Note to self, need to finish telling story::

Life is nice, I miss Geri, I think I will eat a donut now. What, it's an honest train of thought.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.