Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

On the importance of simplicity (edited)

2004-02-01 - 2:21 p.m.

Requisitions made along the bamboo curves, slinking past each brown ring checkpoint, lost to whatever urgency compelled this concourse, not especially minding the chain reaction that smells of lightning and stings of doorknobs against the gut.

Dreams are lopsided smiles shining upside-down, swinging from oak branches, crunching into the leaves below. They've righted themselves and regard me. I regard them. What dances we've led: beyond the realm of horror and into clear sunlit patches fixated by cloud holes. The sky is a threadbare sweater of joy. I feel my soma growing hot and clear, a prism through the filtered perfection. I have been given reprieve from myself. My birthday isn't anywhere nearby, nor is it Chanuka/Hanukkah/Kwanzi. All around me is soft white desert stretches, threaded plants making and unmaking themselves, cross-stitching across the dunes and occasional Starbucks.

What have I been delievered from, exactly? Why the lack of nightmares now? Life has progressively gotten better the older I've become, but I still wonder.

----

My vision is disjointed again. Patches and, in this case, lighting bolt streaks obscure anything beyond it. The color is like plasma, the texture akin to snow on channels you don't pick up. The streaks will eventually form into a large nebulous cloud and most of my vision will be gone. I'll be effectively blind, although I've learned to position the working parts of my vision to line up with whatever I'm doing. It always goes away eventually, ending in a mild to moderate migraine. This one is different in that I can feel the pressure mounting in my neck and eyes. I think it pushes on my optic tract/nerve (which is the bundle of fibres that connect the four fibres which read left and right visual field signals from either eye).

But I can wait for it to pass. I have nothing to do today but catch up on journals, play American McGee's Alice and edit photos. Or not enough bother with any of that. The choices and free time are welcome.

This is Limbo with an all-you-can-eat buffet and a full entertainment centre.

The only thing that'd make this day better would be sushi. I've been craving it for days.

----

Off to get coffee, run an errand with mom and then slip over to The Valley and see something with The Captain.

Life is simple; life is good.

----

(Added on later that day)

The migraine lasted longer than expected. My head and neck are sore, not good conditions for driving 3 hours in and out of the valley.

Anyway, as an after thought, I've scrounged in the ashes of clever titles and german ramblings to find more of The Swans. I can't get enough of 'No Cure for the Lonely'. Songs that are beautiful and nostalgically relevant deserve clicking the 'repeat' button in the dark.

Wonderful as that one is, though, it still doesn't surpass 'Sparkwood and Twenty-One' by Aix Em Klemm. If each of us has theme songs or anthems that played when we did something truly meaningful, that one would be for me.

I still want sushi. Love me for my zeitgeist suburban arrogance and obscure mental arcana. Or don't. In either case, get me some Bayer.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.